CDL Drivers & Traffic Offenses
Florida has made it especially difficult on drivers who have a Commercial Driver's License (CDL) no matter what officers may accuse them with. Since your livelihood is on the line, it is crucial to call someone who knows the importance of the CDL to the driver. CDL holders put in more miles than those without one, so there is more opportunity for the police to aim their sights on CDL truckers and drivers.
The Florida legislature has made it impossible for you to even have the option of electing the school to avoid points on your license. Many employers will never hire or even fire drivers if they have just one point on their license. Of course, one could choose just to pay it, but when things such as insurance rates, employment, or high fines are taken into consideration, hiring an attorney is the much better option. Craig Epifanio has handled CDL tickets for nearly a decade and a half and has followed the changes in the laws against CDL drivers.
Multiple Offenders within 3 years
Florida Statute, Section 322.61 prohibits a holder of a commercial driver's license who, for offenses occurring within a 3-year period, and is convicted of two serious traffic violations will lose their commercial driving privileges for 60 days. Those offenses include, among other things:
--Vehicle equipment or weight violations in connection with a crash resulting in death or personal injury to any person;
--Fleeing or attempting to elude a law enforcement officer, as defined in s. 316.1935;
--Unlawful speed of 15 miles per hour or more above the posted speed limit;
--Driving a commercial motor vehicle, owned by such person, which is not properly insured;
--Improper lane change, as defined in s. 316.085;
--Following too closely, as defined in s. 316.0895;
--Driving a commercial vehicle without obtaining a commercial driver's license;
--Driving a commercial vehicle without the proper class of commercial driver's license or without the proper endorsement; or
--Driving a commercial vehicle without a commercial driver's license in possession, as required by s. 322.03.
Commercial Drivers Licenses and DUI Charges
DUI charges against commercial drivers carry hefty consequences in addition to the "standard" penalties associated with a DUI. For example, a CDL holder, whether they are driving a commercial vehicle or not, are subject to a one year suspension of their commercial driving privileges if convicted of a DUI. Leaving the scene of an accident also falls under this additional penalty. Furthermore, the breath alcohol limit for such a suspension is only .04., in addition to the law that refusing a breath test will suffer the same fate. A CDL holder is also not eligible for a hardship license of their CDL privileges for one year (although you may be eligible for a non-CDL hardship license). Our job is to prevent this from happening. Keeping your license is your livelihood and we know what the stakes are. Craig Epifanio has the experience and drive to fight these cases so as to clear your name or minimize the consequences to you.